Skip to content

forraging berries and rose hips

August 2, 2012
tags:

wild raspberrieswild blueberriesrose hips

I think there has been far too much ranting going on here.. I apologise.

Instead, some simple pictures of my recent forraging finds. Raspberries, as we’ve seen already; blueberries, the tiniest wee things ever! I’m not going to get much jam from these babies; and rose hips, which I picked before learning that they are meant to be bright red and puffy. And that they aren’t to be picked before the first frost of winter (probably the end of this month!). I am yet to learn how to best utilize these. Jam? Tea? Dried, for a Vitamin C packed snack? The hairs and seeds inside are a little daunting. Any suggestions for how to use my next, patiently awaited bounty?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 6:44 pm

    I like the ranting! And the regularity of blog posts :)

  2. August 3, 2012 12:49 am

    I think there was a great post on Curious Kai about making rose hip syrup?

    Also not sure what you mean by ranting!

  3. August 3, 2012 3:04 pm

    Gorgeous photos!

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

