Skip to content

kale pesto pasta

July 9, 2012

The local Greenhouse (basically two huge glasshouses, a large outdoor garden and a heated wooden ‘herb house’ run by THE most lovely couple in Norman Wells) recently opened its doors to vegetable-seeking customers. I have already visited the Greenhouse numerous times to collect plants, soil and gardening advice. This time round however, I was able to scour their huge range of bushy plants, vegetables hanging heavily waiting to be picked, that lined the walls and aisles of the massive, humid glasshouses.

Much gardening advice later, I cycled home, produce clutched tightly under the arm, with this stupid grin on my face – oh it is so satisfying to be sourcing fresh, local vegetables from my neighborhood! One can put up with bruised bananas, brown-edged lettuce, furry blueberries and pale tomatoes, imported from afar, for so long. Hey don’t go thinking I’m complaining or anything – it just makes me appreciate freshness all the more!

Along with my chosen produce of capsicums, courgettes and cucumbers, Monica pushed a huge pile of kale into my hands, “no charge m’dear, it weighs next to nothing!” Well I certainly was not going to turn down free kale!

And with it I made pesto. Simplicity = the ultimate sophistication.

Kale Pesto Pasta
Somewhat inspired by TwoSpoons

200g pasta (I used orecchiette)
a large handful of kale leaves
3 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed, not chopped
about 50ml olive oil
chilli powder (or finely diced red chilli)
about 25g Parmesan, finely grated, divided

Cook pasta according to packet instructions.

Fill a saucepan with water and bring to a boil. Cook kale leaves until softened (about 5-8 minutes). Drain the cooking water, reserving about one cup for the sauce later, lightly squeeze kale to remove excess liquid, and roughly chop. Heat a tablespoon of the olive oil in the same frypan on medium heat and cook the garlic and chilli until fragrant. Add the kale and cook in an even layer until the greens are coated in oil.

Put aside half the kale. Transfer the remaining kale along with the chilli and garlic into the food processor. Puree with some of the cooking water (or as desired), Parmesan and remaining olive oil, until smooth. Serve over drained, cooked pasta, topped with remaining kale leaves and grated Parmesan.

This was the perfect post-workout meal – with a soft boiled egg on the side for protein. We enjoyed it the next day with chickpeas as the source of protein instead. I have heard that adding soft tofu while pureeing the pesto is pretty darn good too.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 9:53 pm

    This looks really tasty! Thanks for sharing. BTW, love your blog logo :)

  2. July 10, 2012 3:54 pm

    I’ve been wanting to make a kale pesto for ages, but I planted our kale too late in the year so it’s still really tiny. Might have to wait til it speeds up a bit in the spring.

    • July 19, 2012 7:34 am

      Such a good way to use it up when it finally goes boom in the garden. I’m interested in others ways to use it – kale lasagne? In a curry? I’m not sure yet if I really like the flavor in its undisguised state..

      • July 19, 2012 2:22 pm

        We mostly use ours in a kale & ricotta cannelloni (top with garlicy tomato sauce & mozzarella), and pick it’s baby leaves for a pizza. It’s definitely hearty enough not to disappear in a curry, and I can see the flavour going well with soy so maybe in a chinese style soup? Or a wilted and put into a winter vietnamese ricepaper roll?

      • July 19, 2012 7:57 pm

        Oh perfect! I will try canelloni. I have found ricotta in the stores up here (very expensive mind you). Yum. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. July 11, 2012 9:03 am

    This is such a fabulous idea. I love kale!

Trackbacks

  1. how to: brioche buns in tin cans « De La Casa
  2. shaved asparagus & mushroom pizza | De La Casa

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

