Skip to content

Double Chocolate Chili Brownie Cookies

January 28, 2012

Double Chocolate Chili Brownie Cookies

Warning: These are hot! I mean it when I say keep a glass of milk nearby. You’ll need a sip for every bite, if your chili powder is anything as hot as ours.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 20 cookies

1 1/2 cups plain white flour
1 cup good quality Dutch-process cocoa
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp chili powder (or 1/2 if using hot)
1 cup brown sugar, packed
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup butter, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
200g Lindt Dark Chili chocolate, chopped into chunks

1. Sift dry ingredients, except sugars, together into a bowl.
2. Beat butter until fluffy, add sugars and beat again until smooth and fluffy (about 5 minutes each time).
3. Add eggs one at a time, fully incorporating them before the next. Beat in vanilla.
4. Add dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix well, or beat on a low setting.
5. Stir in the chocolate chunks.
6. Press plastic wrap onto the surface of the dough and refrigerate for 24 hours. This is a prime example of a deal breaker. Of course I skipped this (who makes cookies unless they want one NOW?) and there was no damage.
7. Preheat oven to 180°C. Scoop out dough into golf ball sized balls and bake for 15-17 minutes. Do not overcook – the bottoms burn easily!
8. Remove from oven, set on cooling rack for 15 minutes. Watch for oozing chocolate when you bite in – and keep a glass of milk nearby!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 6:00 pm

    I want to try them now!

  2. January 29, 2012 8:56 pm

    I used to have that cookie tin when I was little. Small world, huh!

    • January 30, 2012 8:04 am

      Crazy – I think my mum had a set of them. It reminds me of getting Edmonds’ Sante Biscuits from the cupboard as a child :P

  3. February 1, 2012 10:04 pm

    Total dealbreaker! I never have the patience to leave things to sit, and it usually never does any harm. These look beautiful and sound so amazing, I love that they’re hot enough to need a glass of milk with you!

  4. August 3, 2012 8:45 am

    I HATE having to chill the dough and wait even longer for cookies!! Especially when they look and sound as good as these ones. I love the photo of the cracked tops.

    • August 3, 2012 1:49 pm

      Unfortunately I think it’s only possible to skip this step when its not too warm in the kitchen! Otherwise you get flat cookies that spread a lot! The cracked tops were so good – brownie on the inside, crisp on the out. Enjoy :)

  5. lizzygoodthings permalink
    May 18, 2013 10:08 am

    Just found your blog and enjoying it! These sound very moreish

  6. harpseaangel permalink
    January 3, 2014 1:11 pm

    I was looking for a way how to use Lindt Chilli chocolate as I didn’t like its taste…I swapped butter for coconut oil and halved the amount of chilli… just pulled them out of the oven (and ate 2 while still red hot, xixi)…and I LOVE THEM!!! definitely will make them again- maybe even next week? :-))) THANK YOU for posting this recipe…from now on these cookies will be my “motivation” before every class of Welsh!…felly, DIOLCH I TI ! :-)

    • January 8, 2014 6:01 pm

      That’s AWESOME! Stoked you enjoyed them – they are for sure one of our favourites – so rich and soft, especially straight from the oven!

Trackbacks

  1. {not just any} chocolate brownie « De La Casa

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

