Skip to content

cherry ripe bars

November 13, 2011

I’m not much of a Cherry Ripe fan myself. I’m pretty sure they were always the last chocolates to be snatched up from the box of Favorites in our family. But I couldn’t resist the challenge posed by, yet again, Dan Lepard. Ok he didn’t pose any challenge. But he presented me with this recipe and I just couldn’t turn it down.

I think they turned out pretty darn well. J LOVES them (the stash in the fridge is very quickly disappearing) and claims they are very similar to the original bars. They have a nice biscuit base and chunks of glacĂ© cherries throughout. I am not going to claim ‘not only do they taste much better than the original commercial version, they have way less additives’ because, well.. do you KNOW what goes into glacĂ© cherries? Yeah.. they’re not naturally that colour!

But don’t let that put you off!

Cherry Ripe Bars by Dan Lepard – recipe here.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 5:11 pm

    I’m not sure what cherry ripe is, but these bars look delectable!

    • November 14, 2011 8:28 am

      Oh wow they must be a NZ/Australia thing. They’re a chocolate coated treat made by Cadbury. I assume you have Cadbury in USA…

  2. November 13, 2011 6:46 pm

    Works out perfectly that nobody likes the cherry ripes. I LOVE THEM! And probably, this slice too! Thanks for the heads up

  3. Annie S permalink
    February 27, 2012 11:06 am

    These look so yummy Christina! I am so tempted to make them! :) yummm!

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

