Skip to content

chequerboard biscuits & dark chocolate mousse

November 10, 2011

I saw a picture of these biscuits by Dan Lepard and got totally tripped out trying to get my head around how they could work.

I’m going to admit, I sat, for about an hour, with paper and scissors attempting to copy his instructions to create the chequered look, getting increasingly frustrated. Then finally, in a flurry of tiny paper strips, it clicked! And I headed to the kitchen.

J returned from work a few hours later to biscuits juuust coming out of the oven (yeah they took a while, chilling then cutting and stacking then chilling some more), and a brandy-infused dark chocolate mousse setting in the fridge. The mousse was surprisingly pleasant, sans cream, and incredibly simple to whip up. Well it would have been had I not over-warmed my eggs on the stove and slightly cooked them.. resulting a some delicious white lumps through the otherwise smooth fudgy pudding.. I wouldn’t bother heating the egg whites next time. Unless, of course, I happened to be pregnant..


Chequerboard Biscuits and Dark Chocolate Mousse by Dan Lepard – recipe here.

 

I thought it’d be fun to show you how silly some of my shoots get. With the sunlight rapidly diminishing, the only spot of light happened to fall on the bed.. no time to tide area up – just.get.photo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 9:37 am

    Oh my lord! This could not look any more delicious! The chequerboard biscuits look far too complicated for my tired little brain but you did an amazing job of explaining the process so I’m bookmarking this for a day when I feel like I can actually get through those instructions. :)

    • November 10, 2011 9:59 am

      They are WAYY easier than they look! Just a little time consuming with the chilling… and trying to cut in straight lines – not my forte! Dan’s instructions were pretty good so I left them as is. If you do decide to try, there are some good youtube clips that show it REALLY clearly for us who find this sort of thing a little mentally challenging :P

  2. Danielle permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:26 pm

    These are impressive! :) I may pop across the road and steal one while your not looking ;)

    • November 10, 2011 3:08 pm

      Hi Dee!! Haha and you’d totally find them in the cookie jar on the bench… EXCEPT that we’re housesitting for a friend on the other side of town and have taken the few that remained with us :P

  3. November 10, 2011 12:40 pm

    How beautiful!

  4. November 10, 2011 4:57 pm

    Wow! These look amazing! I am definitely going to have to try this! Thanks for sharing!

    http://www.feathersandfutons.blogspot.com

  5. November 10, 2011 9:56 pm

    You’re so clever! If it wasn’t for your instructions I probably would’ve been trying to stack together thin strips of dough or something equally complicated. They look beautiful – and I love your last shot, sometimes I have random items in the background too because I just haven’t tidied up – at least it’s real life and not in a studio :)

Trackbacks

  1. chocolate & mint {avocado} mousse | De La Casa

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

