Skip to content

oatmeal pancakes

August 4, 2011
tags: ,

I love oats.

There. I said it.

Now, I’m not one to throw that L word around. But I really cannot deny it. And who have I to thank for that? My dear mother and father. Thanks mum and dad :)

For as long as I can remember (well, since swapping from the beloved Mini Wheats) I have had a bowl of uncooked oats for breakfast every single morning. And in more recent times – morning tea? An oatbran muffin, pretty much every single day…

You would think that on our ‘let’s try something different for breakfast’ days we’d actually.. try something different. Yet, browsing through Kim Boyce’s book for our next recipe to try, of course we cannot skip past the Oatmeal Pancakes. Made of cooked oatmeal AND oatflour these are an oat-fanatics dream!

And oh they did not fail us. I made some porridge the night before and in the morning added it in with the oat flour (ground rolled oats) and remaining ingredients (including a recent-favourite, sticky licorice-y molasses). These are cooked on a cast iron pan in a good layer of hot butter to get that crisp brown outer. The night before I reduced some strawberries in a pot with a squeeze of lime and sugar (strawberry jam) and we smeared this between our pancakes and topped them with banana and yoghurt. And of course a little Canadian maple syrup..

Verdict? Awesome. Crispy. Delicious. Filling. Oaty. Soft-centred.

Oatmeal Pancakes – recipe from Good to the Grain as republished with permission on Smitten Kitchen

Why not leave a comment! You know I'd love it :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

